Industries News.Net

Michael Moorer among 2024 inductees to Boxing Hall of Fame

Field Level Media
7 Dec 2023

(Photo credit: Albert Cesare/The Enquirer / USA TODAY NETWORK)

Michael Moorer, the first left-hander to win the heavyweight title, joined Ricky Hatton and Ivan Calderon on Thursday in being announced as inductees for the 2024 class of the International Boxing Hall of Fame.

Diego Corrales, who died in 2007, also was named as a member of the class from the men's modern category. The induction festivities will be held from June 6-9 in Canastota, N.Y.

The 13-member class was voted by members of the Boxing Writers Association of America as well as a panel of international boxing historians.

"As the Hall of Fame readies to celebrate its landmark 35th anniversary, we are beyond excited to reveal the Class of 2024 and are very much looking forward to honoring the newest class of inductees to earn boxing's highest honor," said Edward Brophy, the executive director of the International Boxing Hall of Fame.

Moorer captured the world light heavyweight title in 1988 and advanced to the heavyweight ranks three years later before claiming that division's title in 1992. He defeated Evander Holyfield for the unified WBA, IBF and lineal heavyweight titles in 1994 before getting knocked out by then-45-year-old George Foreman. Moorer regained the title in 1996 and finished his career with a 52-4-1 record with 40 knockouts.

Known as "The Hitman," Hatton upset Kostya Tszyu in 2005 and captured the welterweight title in 2006. The Brit finished his career with a 45-3 record with 32 knockouts.

Calderon competed in the 2000 Olympics for Puerto Rico before seizing championships at minimumweight and light flyweight. He finished with a 35-3-1 record with six knockouts.

Corrales likely is remembered best for overcoming two knockdowns in the 10th before defeating Jose Luis Castillo later in the round in a 2005 bout. Corrales posted a 40-5 record with 33 knockouts. He died in 2007 at age 29 from injuries suffered in a motorcycle accident.

Elected to the women's modern category were British champion Jane Couch and Ana Maria Torres of Mexico. Luis Angel Firpo and Theresa Kibby were selected posthumously to the old-timer and women's trailblazer categories, respectively.

Trainer Kenny Adams, manager Jackie Kallen and longtime publicist Fred Sternburg were selected in the non-participant category; journalist Wallace Matthews and the late broadcaster Nick Charles were named in the observer category.

--Field Level Media

Copyright ©1998-2024 Industries News.Net | Mainstream Media Limited - All rights reserved